UK’s first recycled kitchen – but it’s not the prettiest

Milestone Eco Design has unveiled the UK’s first fully recycled kitchen as part of their KORC (Kitchens of Recycled Content) project. It has a very Blue Peter-esque innocence about it which I love, with recycled content including cabinet doors made out of recycled yoghurt pots, and worktops from vending machine coffee cups. The cabinets and the stainless steel sink are also produced from recycled materials, and the lighting is low energy consumption.

Although I am fully onboard with what they have achieved, I can’t help being reminded of a 70’s kitchen when I look at this picture. I’m really not a big fan of the speckled appearance of the cabinets, and the corner sink is not exactly at the cutting edge of contemporary design. I know, I know, I shouldn’t criticize this fantastic achievement, and I don’t intend it to seem like I am, but I have to be honest, I don’t think I would pay to have this installed in my kitchen just yet!

Recycled_kitchen

Recycled_kitchen_sink

If you are not as much of a design snob as me (I’m really not, I just had to address the elephant in the room!) and would like a quote for this wonderfully innovative kitchen (trying to redeem myself) then contact Milestone Eco Design.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! The eco friendly aspect of the kitchen is absolutely wonderful. But your right, it does have quite a 70’s feel to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

